Skip to Main Content
Previous button for special alerts   Next button for special alerts
Resume button for special alerts Stop button for special alerts
Click to move to content
Parsons Police Department Patch Parsons Police Department Badge Map of Kansas showing Parsons Kansas


The Parsons Police Department has a rich history dating back to its founding in 1870. Today the agency is a modern operation that serves a resident population of 9,665 citizens according to the 2018 estimates, which makes Parsons the 36th largest city in Kansas. Our population increases to over 11,000 during the day with an influx of students and business traffic. The community encompasses an area of nearly 11 square miles and is the largest city in Labette County.

Currently the police department's authorized staffing includes 26 officers and 8 support staff (including our Dispatch staff). The agency responds to over 16,000 calls for service every year. Serving the community requires 24 hour-a-day staffing, a modern dispatch center and a small lock-up facility. Currently, the Department has five (5) Divisions that include: Administration, Patrol, Investigations, Communications and Community/School Resource. Multiple patrol officers are available on every shift and the agency aggressively pursues criminal investigations with a well-staffed Detective Unit.

We also staff and house the Kansas Combined Anti-Drug Taskforce (K-CAT), which serves all of Labette County. K-CAT is comprised of staff from the Parsons Police Department, Labette County Sheriff's Office, and Kansas Bureau of Investigations (KBI) to target the narcotics sale and distribution in the county. The Executive Board is comprised of Labette Sheriff Darren Eichinger, County Attorney Mandy Johnson, and Parsons Police Chief Robert Spinks.